Find a course

You want to embark on a course of higher education: apply to join the Université de Picardie Jules Verne !

© Guillaume Crochez

The UPJV offers a wide range of academic courses, from undergraduate degrees in technology (Bachelor) to doctorates, in 4 major fields :

  • Arts, Literature, Languages
  • Law, Economics, Management
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Science, Technology and Health

Study organization in France

In French universities, courses are taught in two formats:


Lectures take place in amphitheatres that can hold up to several hundred people. A university teacher presents his or her lecture orally, while the students take notes.

Tutorial and practical work

Tutorials and practical work are courses in small groups of about 30 students. They provide a practical approach to the theoretical knowledge presented during the lectures.

In France, the academic year begins in September and ends in May/June according to the calendar of the Faculty Training and Research Units (UFR), schools or institutes where the courses are followed.

The year is divided into two semesters, separated by two weeks of holidays over Christmas and New Year (end of December-beginning of January).

A further three weeks of holidays are spread throughout the academic year.

Each academic year is separated by the summer holidays, lasting about two months (July-August).

Calendrier des inscriptions et des réinscriptions en ligne 2021/2022 (in french) pdf - 725.35 KB

3 university degrees certify the stages of a student's education:

  • The Bachelor’s degree, also known as the undergraduate degree, prepared in 6 semesters (3 years)
  • The Master's degree, prepared in 4 semesters (2 years)
  • The Doctorate, for those who want to do research after their Master’s (3 years) 

Each year of university studies is organised into 2 semesters, each worth 30 credits.

Since 2002, the French university system has been based on the Licence-Master-Doctorat (LMD) system. This system facilitates the equivalence of diplomas in Europe, thanks to the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).

The European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) is a grading system developed by the European Union. It certifies the level of higher education of students and facilitates the recognition of qualifications within the European area.

  • One year of full-time study corresponds to 60 credits (30 credits per semester)
  • Bachelor's degrees are worth 180 credits (3 years)
  • Master's programmes are worth 120 credits (2 years)
  • Doctoral studies do not accrue ECTS credits

The LMD system means :

  • Courses that are better targeted towards employment opportunities
  • Diplomas recognised at European level
  • Increased potential for mobility
  • Decompartmentalisation of disciplines
  • Easier to resume studies at any time in one's life, wherever one may be