Content | Menu | Autres menus ?

Université de Picardie Jules Verne

Features of the LMD

You are here : Accueil > Courses > Organisation of studies

Since September 2004 there are three university levels offered to students at the University :

  • Firstly the bachelors degree, studies over 6 semesters (3 years)
  • Secondly the Masters degree, studies over 4 semesters (2 years)
  • Thirdly the PhD for those who wish to go into research after masters level (3 years).

Each study year is based on two semesters which have several modules (UE - unités d'enseignement) and give 30 credits. Students must obtain 180 credits in order to pass the bachelors course, and 120 extra-credits for the masters.
Each field of study contains a common course, plus optional modules and general sessions open to students of all disciplines.

Important to note

  • Courses targeting professional integration
  • Diplomas which are recognized on a European level (finished the multitude of illegible diplomas)
  • Increasing possibilities to study in different places
  • Subjects decompartmentalized
  • It is now easier to pick up your studies at any time in your life or from wherever you are

Important to know

  • The DEUG may be awarded on request following the first four semesters of the bachelors course.
  • The 'maîtrise' diploma may be awarded on request following the first two semesters of the masters course.
  • All existing courses are maintained, even those who have few students.
  • The IUT still awards DUT diploma ('bac' + 2 years study).
  • Students may still study for the competitive exams in teacher training (CAPE, CAPES, 'Agrégation'...).

Top of the page